Gardens and towers and bridges, oh my!

Today was another busy day in London. We started off slower this morning, taking our time to get ready and out the door. While my friends opted to skip breakfast, I made use of the convenience of room service, ordering up a light spread of eggs, tomatoes, and bacon. Then it was off to the Sky Garden.

img_2977

I’m assuming this lovely city garden wasn’t in existence ten years ago, otherwise I’m sure we would have ventured to it. With sprawling views of the city from all angles, you get a truly unique, 360 degree view of recognizable landmarks such as Tower Bridge, Tower of London, St Paul’s Cathedral, the Tate Modern, and the Shard, among others. The atrium is filled with lush plants and plenty of seating to take in the views from the floor to ceiling windows that make up all four walls of the top most floor of this skyscraper. And the best part is it’s a free, public space. You do need to make a reservation to ensure you can enter, because they only allow so many people in per hour, and you’re limited to a one-hour stay (although I didn’t see them kicking anyone out who lingered too long). But for no cost and with breathtaking views, it’s a great way to spend an hour of your day and take in all the city has to show for itself.

img_3028

After our journey to London’s highest public gardens, it was off to the Tower of London. Though I’d already toured the tower back in my heyday (provided I’m using that word correctly, which I’m probably not), one of my friends hadn’t. Plus I’m never one to turn down the chance to wander an ancient, medieval castle-like structure. I feel like we did more this time around anyway; ten years ago I didn’t get a guided tour, and wasn’t able to peek inside the White Tower and see the armories. I also never had the chance to walk up along the battlements the first time around (though you know I made my rounds through the torture chambers during both my first and second visits, obviously). We spent a good awhile in the tower before making a pit stop for lunch at a place called Strada (which had a small, yet tastebud-friendly gluten-free menu). After lunch it was off to Tower Bridge.

I don’t think I realized ten years ago that you could actually go inside Tower Bridge (or maybe I did and I just never got around to it, who knows). All I know is last time, I was only ever able to snap a photo of the outside. This time, I was determined to go up into the tower as it crosses over the Thames. It was quite a unique experience; an elevator takes you up to the east walkway, where you get to walk across the enclosed walkway that lingers high above the road, and river, below. With glass on both sides, and even part of the floor, you get a chance to see much of the city from a unique perspective. You’re able to walk the west walkway also, which boasts the same glass windows and floor, just with a view of the other side of the city. The tour finishes with a peek inside the engine room and of course, exits through the gift shop.

img_3039

After a long day of sightseeing, my friends were off to the theater and I was off to relax in the hotel. Though room service isn’t something I make a habit of using when I travel, when you’re cold and tired and don’t feel like venturing out anywhere to scour for food (especially when you have to be specific with the type of cuisine you can eat), the convenience of having someone bring food directly to your door while you relax in your fuzzy socks just can’t be beat. Now it’s off to bed so I can get up and do the tourist thing again tomorrow!

Leave a comment