Saying farewell to vacation is always bittersweet

Today was our last day in London. Somehow a trip that seemed so far away snuck up so quickly, and once it was upon me, it came and went so fast. I’m still shocked we’re leaving tomorrow. I’m actually still in shock that I’m really even here after ten years have gone by since I called this place my home for four months. It’s crazy to think I lived in London longer than I lived in Los Angeles.

img_3202Despite the bittersweet feelings, we made the best of our last day here. The morning started off with a tour of The Globe Theatre. Though I toured it last time I was here, this time around felt more informative. Plus, with my love of Shakespeare, you can never tour the Globe too many times. My only regret is not having seen a play at the iconic theatre. Romeo & Juliet was currently showing, but the only tickets available were standing room only and as much as I’d love to see one of the playwright’s notorious works acted out for me how he intended them, I just couldn’t fathom standing for an hour and a half, with no roof over my head, in the cold, with the chance of being rained on. Guess I have a reason to come back.

img_3117

After our guided tour, we hit Borough Market for some nourishment. I managed to find several gluten-free options, enjoying a tasty Indian dish for lunch and buying a gluten- and dairy-free cupcake for dessert (which I ate after dinner and was delicious), as well as a gluten- and dairy-free blueberry muffin to enjoy on my way to the airport tomorrow. Once we’d satiated our palates at the market, we headed back to Covent Garden to return to the Alice Through the Looking Glass bookstore that I’d tried to go to on Thursday while my friends were on their tea bus tour. It was open this time, and it was glorious. They had so many rare editions of Alice in Wonderland, as well as some great prints and posters with illustrations from the book (which of course I had to buy).

As we headed back to our hotel for a quick rest, we passed through Trafalgar Square, which was supposed to be hosting a St. Patrick’s Day festival but instead seemed to be the spot of some sort of protest about Turkey. Not exactly what we had expected, so we high-tailed it out of there, through St. James’ Park and back to our hotel for a quick break before hitting Oxford Street shops one last time. We ended the night with a good meal at Timmy Green.

I’d say it was, overall, a good last day, a final farewell to this city that captured my heart all those years ago. This whole week, I haven’t really felt that overwhelming excitement you get when you go to a new place for the first time, but that’s probably because, in some ways, it’s felt like coming home to be back here. After all, I did get to know this city very well in the 16 weeks I lived here. It’s been ten years, but in some ways, it feels like I never left, like I just slipped right back into my old life here. I’ll forever cherish my memories, old and new, that this city has given me. It’s been real, London. Until next time, xoxo.

Leave a comment